Welcome to our latest installment in our “Meet the Member” series, where we will feature a WFE member. This quarter meet Lilly Cullen!

Read on to learn more about Lilly:

How did you get involved with WFE and how long have you been a member?

I met someone at ACG who recommended that I attend a WFE luncheon. I started attending events in 2018.

What is your favorite thing about WFE?

I love that everyone is here to develop relationships and to collaborate. I have met multiple women who have helped me both professionally and personally.

10 Quick Questions:

1. What was your first job?
After graduating from the University of Georgia, I joined BB&T’s Leadership Development Program and trained to become a Portfolio Manager. The bank relocated me to Houston in 2013 to be a Portfolio Manager for the Middle Market Commercial Team.

2. What do you like most about your current job?
As a Middle Market banker, I have the opportunity to help my clients grow their businesses. I enjoy learning about the visions for their companies and being able to help them achieve them.

3. What is the best career advice you’ve ever received?
“Focus on doing your current job well and opportunities will present themselves.” Often times it is easy to think about what you want to do next, but you have to succeed at your current job in order to make it to the next step.

4. Who is your role model?
I admire Sarah Blakely, Founder of Spanx. Not only is she a successful entrepreneur, she’s a great mom and public speaker. She has an incredible work ethic and sense of humor. I recommend following her on social media!

5. If you weren’t working at Truist, what would you be doing?
I would likely be working at a nonprofit.

6. Do you have any pets?
Yes! Two black lab littermates named Pancho and Villa. They turn 7 in March

7. What are you currently reading?
“To Catch and Kill” by Ronan Farrow and “The Alice Network” by Kate Quinn. I just purchased “Man’s Search for Meaning” by Viktor Frankl.

8. How do you handle stress?
I handle stress by going on walks and talking to a close friend.

9. What do you make time for no matter what?
My son. Even after a long day, I make time to play with him and read him books.

10. What is one thing people would be surprised to know about you?
I worked at a dude ranch in Jackson Hole, Wyoming after my sophomore year in college. I was a cabin girl and member of the kitchen staff.

Bonus Question!
11. What “lesson from mom” do you still live by today?
Just be you!